Tux Guitar

Open Discussion

Subject What about a TuxGuitar version for Android?

Datoh

Hi,

I'm just thinking to adapt tuxGuitar for Android (the mobile google OS). Is there any project running?

Datoh.

Jens

Last night I was thinking about exactly the same =).

There is no need for full featured version.
Basic elementens like
- selection between the tracks
- regulation of the volumes
- changing the tempo
- a small mixer (solo, mute...)

I wish I was a programmer (Java) =).

datoh

http://twitpic.com/66ejz

For the developer: do you have a reference tab file to test the display.

Julian

I'm not exactly sure what you mean with "reference tab file"

What you need is only a viewer ?? ( instead of the editor ).
I don't have idea about androi..
has it a normal JRE ?? or is it reduced ?

is there SWT version available for it ? or are you using swing..

if you are using swing, and it's a viewer, you maybe should use the Applet viewer as start point. (i didn't upload the sources to sourceforge yet, but i'll do when have some time )
See as example:
http://community.tuxguitar.com.ar/tablature/52/Dionisio+Aguado+-+Study+1/

This applet is just a viewer with the basic things that tuxguitar need to display the tablature, and play it.
using swing instead of SWT.
If JRE for android supports swing and some basic classes ( i know for example that j2me don't jave java.util.List )
you could only need a "redesign" of the applet.
so will be more easy to merge changes on future releases.
while using the full tuxguitar version, once i release next version will be really hard for you to add new features if you made a big rewrite.

Jens

Hi Julian!

I will try to help as much as I can =).

I think datoh means a tab-file just to test the program. A tab file that includes some instruments (or just one?) and some notes. He wants to test the display of the notes in the program.