Tux Guitar

Open Discussion

Subject I LOVE TuxGuitar Thanks! plus midi question

3dfrog

Hi

I am brand new to tux guitar and I totally love it. I am learning to play bass and this is helping me so much. Thanks a lot for such amazing software. I am gonna make a donation when I can. I feel very lucky because I found out about guitar pro software the other day but can't afford it right now, then I found tux guitar and I am able to play along with music right away :)

I am wondering, I don't know anything about midi music really, if i eventually bought some nice midi sounds would i be able to easily use them in tuxguitar besides the default sounds? I don't mind the default really but would be nice to have some more realistic sounds.

Julian

You can configure the sounds, but it allmost depends on what MIDI port are you using in tuxguitar.

In other words, tuxguitar don't play any sound, it just connects to a MIDI synthesizer, and it's who make the job.
so each synthesizer could have (or no) different modes to setup the sounds.

So, with plugins and software installed in your PC you can get more MIDI Ports in tuxguitar.
but to help you with it, i have to know what operating system are you using ( since it's not same story for win, linux, mac.. etc )

By other hand, i suggest you first "try" with any free soundfont.. if you see all is ok.. then you could think on pay for something better.

3dfrog

Hi Julian.

Thanks. I am running windows vista premium 64 bit. I have a realtek hd video card.

I downloaded a sf2 file but i don't know what to do with it and it is hard to find proper information on the web.

I switched from windows midi mapper to java sound in the settings and it sounds much better now :) If there is some other better one I can try it would be cool, especially if open source :) Thanks

3dfrog