Tux Guitar

Open Discussion

Subject TuxGuitar vs. Guitar Pro: which is better?

CPB

I've used a demo version of Guitar Pro in the past, but because it was a demo version I was always frustrated by its limitations so I never got to see what the full version of the program was like. I've been using Tux for a few months now and like it. Now I can FINALLY take tabs I've downloaded and edit the parts that are incorrect and save the changes, something I could never do with the demo version of GP.

What I want to use a tab program for is to learn things I can't quite figure out by ear, and sometimes to be able to play them back at a slower tempo so I can work things out better. Tux meets those requirements. My only complaint is with the user-friendliness of some of the editing functions... it just seems like too many mouse clicks are needed to do some things.

That being said, I have some questions about Tux vs. GP:

Can Tux do things that GP can't?

Can GP do things that Tux can't?

Is GP more user-friendly than Tux?

Does GP have the same import/export capabilities as Tux?

I'm pretty happy with Tux, but I guess what I want to know is if it would be worth it to buy GP.

CPB

Seriously, no one here has used Guitar Pro and can answer these questions?

hacknslash

I've only been using TuxGuitar for a few months, and I've only played with Guitar Pro 6 demo (which seems to show all the features but can't save), but here are a few things I've found that I need that TuxGuitar does not have and Guitar Pro 6 does have:

- GP6 definitely has better (readable) printouts. I have not been able to figure out how to get TuxGuitar to truly print out something that isn't too small to see. I've played a bit with the config file based on comments on this discussion board, but there's just not enough info that I have found to make it work.
- GP6 can let you do repeats of music for verses while showing different lyrics or each verse. I have not found a way to do that with TG